Costcutter League champions and J Emrys Morgan Cup holders Llandysul came out on top in the final of the annual Eddie Merry Memorial tournament at Fishguard.

Despite having to field a makeshift outfit the Swallows, who beat Fishguard Sports 5-2 in a semi-final tie, defended superbly and emerged 2-1 winners over Merlins Bridge.

Lewis Jones and Adrian Hazzelby netted first half goals for the Teifisiders who were under the cosh during the second period but kept their shape and with skipper Ian Barrett outstanding in midfield and goalkeeper Jonathan Durbridge pulling off three saves right out of the top drawer they held out for victory.