History was made at the New Saints stadium as Ceredigion's Under 15s girls team won the Welsh Inter Schools Association Cup for the first time ever, defeating Cardiff and Vale Schools in a mature and disciplined display.

Two goals by Lleucu Mathias (Ysgol Bro Teifi) and one by Anwen Merry (Ysgol Penweddig) secured a 3-0 victory for Justin Evans and Gareth Jones' side.

In a first half dominated by the Ceredigion girls they took the lead on 13 minutes with a well-crafted passing move culminating in Lleucu Mathias side firing passed the on-rushing Cardiff goalkeeper.

After dominating play for the majority of the half they extended their lead in the 35th minute when Lleucu Mathias dribbled passed three defenders down the left before cutting the ball back for Anwen Merry to confidently finish into the top corner.

Cardiff and the Vale started the stronger in the second half, but it was Ceredigion who increased their lead after 47 minutes. Lleucu Mathias latched on to a long ball, allowing her to outpace the Cardiff defence and coolly slot the ball into the back of the net, much to the delight of the travelling Ceredigion supporters.

After this Cardiff created several opportunities, including a fierce snapshot from their centre forward, which was expertly tipped over the bar by keeper Summer Evans.

Despite the pressure, Ceredigion's defence held firm and coupled with the hard working and tenacious tackling of the midfield this enabled the Ceredigion girls to repel any further threats, particularly from set-pieces.

On the final whistle there were jubilant scenes on and off the pitch. When captain Jem Evans lifted the prestigious trophy, it was to the loudest cheer of the day.

Ceredigion squad: Jem Evans (Ysgol Uwchradd Aberteifi), Summer Evans (Ysgol Uwchradd Aberteifi), Lowri James Evans (Ysgol Gyfun Aberaeron), Kaylee Gaine (Ysgol Bro Teifi), Esyllt Jones (Ysgol Bro Teifi), Sioned Kersey (Ysgol Bro Pedr), Lleucu Medi Mathias (Ysgol Bro Teifi), Anwen Merry (Ysgol Penweddig), Lili Moralee-Hughes (Ysgol Penglais), Llio Tanat Morgan (Ysgol Penweddig), Branwen Orchard (Ysgol Bro Teifi), Nel Rowlands (Ysgol Penweddig), Tirion Sedgwick (Ysgol Penweddig), Georgia Smith (Ysgol Bro Teifi), Phoebe Smith (Ysgol Bro Teifi), Manager: Gareth Jones, Coach: Justin Evans