WITH the Costcutter Football League celebrating its centenary next year, there are strong opinions over the best team but there can be no argument as to the most successful club – Newcastle Emlyn.

One of the Cardiganshire Football League founders, the Reds had a few blank seasons in the early 1960s before re-forming in 1967 and continuing their trophy-gathering exploits.

For some years, Emlyn’s second string competed in the major local competitions as the firsts were in the Welsh League.

But the Parc Emlyn club has left rivals in their wake having plundered no fewer than 48 trophies - 16 more than Cardigan Town, with St Dogmaels in third with 29.

Ten years after re-forming Emlyn lifted the J Emrys Morgan Cup, with victory over Llanfyllin, captured the coveted trophy a second time by beating St Dogmaels in 1991-92 and became the only Costcutter club to win the cup three times when thumping Four Crosses 5-0 in the 2017-18 final in Rhayader.

Over the years, trophies on the local circuit have gone to clubs that are now defunct.

Cilgerran were crowned champions in 1949-50, Llanybydder lifted the coveted Roderick Bowen (Liberal MP for Cardiganshire) Challenge Cup two seasons later, Beulah pipped St Dogmaels for the title in 1963 while the following season St David’s University College, Lampeter (SDUC) were kingpins.

Royal Aircraft Establishment Aberporth (RAE) fielded a team for several years and pulled off a double with the League Cup and Bay Cup in 1960-61.

Another club no longer in existence, Saron, lifted the J Emrys Morgan Cup with victory over Penrhyncoch in 1997-98,

For the record here are the main trophy winners over the years: Newcastle Emlyn 48; Cardigan Town 32; St Dogmaels 29; Maesglas 24; Bargod Rangers 23; Aberaeron, Ffostrasol 19; Lampeter Town, New Quay 12; Dewi Stars 11; Llandysul 10.