Showing just why they are South Wales Cricket Association Division One leaders and champions-elect, Cowbridge completed a double over Llandysul with a 60-run win in the Teifi Valley village.

Cowbridge got off to a bright start as openers Thomas Merilaht (30) and Ben Wright (44) shared in a stand of 48 before both fell lbw to Irfon Jones.

The visitors lost two quick wickets before middle order duo Tom Williams (31) and Yodhin Punja (44) steadied the boat and helped their side reach a respectable but gettable 165 for the loss of nine wickets.

Medium-pacer Ieuan Paske returned figures of 4-38 off ten overs.

In the Llandysul reply Rhydian Harries was trapped lbw by Brad Evans without bothering the scorer and the homesters lost wickets at regular intervals.

Only Llewellyn Hughes at number five showed real resistance with a fine knock of 51 which included three sixes and three fours and the homesters were dismissed for 104 in the 37th over as Brad Evans and Thomas Merilaht picked up two wickets apiece.

In Division Five the championship hopes of Llandysul 2nds received a blow when they went down by six wickets against their Cowbridge counterparts in the Vale of Glamorgan.

The Teifisiders were bowled out for 92 in 33.5 overs and the homesters got the runs for the loss of four wickets.