A NEWCASTLE Emlyn rugby player will be an experienced head amongst a youthful Wales team for the opening round of the Six Nations.

Scarlets scrum half Gareth Davies has been named in the starting line up by head coach Warren Gatland for Wales’ opening 2024 Guinness Six Nations clash with Scotland at a sold-out Principality Stadium in Cardiff.

The 33-year-old is the most experienced name in the team with 74 caps in a relatively inexperienced side.

In other news, Cameron Winnett will be making his debut at fullback. The back three is completed by wingers Rio Dyer and Josh Adams. The side will be led by Dafydd Jenkins – who will become the second youngest player to captain Wales at 21 years and 60 days old, just behind Sir Gareth Edwards.

Alongside Davies, Gatland has named wing Josh Adams in the starting line up who brings more experience with his 54 caps.

Wales are without George North who suffered a knock to his shoulder and Will Rowlands following the birth of his child.

Gatland said: “I think there’s a really nice balance in the squad.

“We’ve got some players who were involved in the world cup so have some experience and then some exciting youngsters and when I look at that forward pack, it’s not a small forward pack. It’s a big forward pack.

“Scotland haven’t won here in a long, long time and it’s an opportunity for us to continue with that record. The roof’s going to be open, Scotland want the roof open which I think is a little big disappointing from an atmosphere point of view, because when that roof is shut, it does tend to create a lot more atmosphere and noise in the stadium. But that’s the decision that they made.

“The players understand how important this first game is in the competition. The sold out stadium, go out there, you get the Six Nations off to a good start, you can create some momentum.

“I’ve been really pleased with their attitude and the way that they’ve trained this week and we should be really excited about this first game.”

Wales team to face Scotland on Saturday, February 3 (kick off at 4.45pm, live on BBC and S4C): 15 Cameron Winnett, 14 Josh Adams, 13 Owen Watkin, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Rio Dyer, 10 Sam Costelow, 9 Gareth Davies; 1 Corey Domachowski, 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Leon Brown, 4 Dafydd Jenkins, 5 Adam Beard, 6 James Botham, 7 Tommy Reffell, 8 Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Kemsley Mathias, 18 Keiron Assiratti, 19 Teddy Williams, 20 Alex Mann, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Ioan Lloyd, 23 Mason Grady.