NEWCASTLE Emlyn’s Gareth Thomas and Gareth Davies will start for Wales in their Rugby World Cup clash with Australia this weekend.

29-year-old prop Thomas will start in the front row, whilst 33-year-old Davies will return to the scrum half position after coming on as a replacement against Portugal.

Elsewhere in the team, Adam Beard is set to win his 50th cap for Wales when he starts in the second row, Jac Morgan will captain the side after his player-of-the-match performance last weekend and Henry Thomas is named on the bench as front row cover, where if he takes to the field, he will make his Rugby World Cup debut.

Head coach Warren Gatland said: “We’re happy with our position going into this game. We have two wins and ten points. There’s a confidence among this group and we’ve had a good edge to training this week.

“Everyone wants to be involved and there were some disappointed players this week, which is exactly what we want with competition strong across the squad.

“Every game in the World Cup is tough, the stakes are high, and this will be no different. Australia have talented players and we know they will want to come out and put in a performance this weekend.

“Our accuracy was good against Fiji, but it was not at the level we would like against Portugal. We are looking to get better every week. Against Australia we know we have to take our chances and put them under as much pressure as possible.

“If we play the way we know we can and maintain that for 80 minutes, then we know we will be a very hard team to beat.”

Wales team to face Australia at OL Stadium, Lyon, on Sunday, September 24 (8pm kick off, UK time. Live on ITV and S4C): 15 Liam Williams, 14 Louis Rees-Zammit, 13 George North, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Dan Biggar, 9 Gareth Davies, 1 Gareth Thomas, 2 Ryan Elias, 3 Tomas Francis, 4 Will Rowlands, 5 Adam Beard, 6 Aaron Wainwright, 7 Jac Morgan (captain), 8 Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Corey Domachowski, 18 Henry Thomas, 19 Dafydd Jenkins, 20 Taine Basham, 21 Tomos Williams, 22 Gareth Anscombe, 23 Rio Dyer.