A Ceredigion bookshop has been shortlisted for a national award.

Gwisgo Bookworm in Aberaeron has been nominated for the Independent Bookshop of the Year in the British Book Awards 2023.

It is one of 59 independent bookshops from across the UK to be listed.

In the regional final they are up against Crickhowell’s Book-ish, Chepstow Books & Gifts, Swansea’s Cover to Cover, Penarth’s Griffin Books, Cardiff’s Shelf Life Books and Zines, and The Berwyn Bookshop and The Bookshop both in Mold.

The award is sponsored by Gardners, a book wholesaler, and celebrates the stores that support their local communities with bespoke bookselling and tailored initiatives.

Tom Tivnan, managing director and chairman of the Independent Bookshop of the Year judges, said: “If there is one thing that has been driven home by these finalists it is that independent bookshops have been one of the winners of the pandemic.

"Indies have come through what could have been a hugely devastating time for the sector in their strongest position in decades.


“We have seen this generally in the increased numbers of indies throughout the UK and Ireland. But we also see it more specifically in these finalists with the shops’ innovation, entrepreneurship and creativity – all done in the service of local communities.

"We have entered a new age for independent bookshops.”

Ruth Gardner, Gardners’ UK sales manager, said: “We are so proud to be sponsoring the Independent Bookseller of the Year award for the 14th year!

“Over the last few years, booksellers have proven themselves in the face of adversity – adapting, evolving and progressing to new heights. We know it hasn’t been an easy ride, but it’s amazing to see them thriving.

“The list is a tough one, with every entry being a worthy winner – it could be the toughest yet! We’d like to wish every entry the best of luck and we can’t wait to be part of this journey with them.”

Each of the shops will compete to win their own region, with the winners being announced on March 16.

The regional winners will then contend for the overall prize, which will be announced at the British Book Awards ceremony on May 15, at Grosvenor House, London.

The overall winner of Independent Bookshop of the Year will also be in the running for Book Retailer of the Year.