Seven Costcutter Ceredigion League clubs are through to the Emrys Morgan Cup second round, along with Newcastle Emlyn and Aberaeron of the new Mid Wales League West.

The competition, which started in season 1972- 73, has traditionally involved tier five clubs in the Ceredigion, Aberystwyth District, Mid Wales South and Montgomeryshire leagues.

A change this term, however, has seen tier four teams of the Mid Wales West and Mid Wales East admitted.

It aroused speculation over whether the admittance of clubs from higher leagues in the FAW pyramid will result in tier five clubs missing out on the silverware this term.

That said, a number of Mid Wales East hopefuls fell by the wayside in the first round when knocked out by Ceredigion League clubs.

There are some intriguing ties in the second round, including division one reigning champions St Dogmaels hosting Mid Wales East high-flyers Hay St Marys.

St Dogmaels came through 3-1 at Ffostrasol in a preliminary round tie and sprang a 6-1 away win over St Harmon to reach round two.

Hay St Marys were expected to be pushed at the Urdd Centre against Crannog in the last round, but in the event emerged 5-0 winners.

Heads were turned in the first round when newly promoted division one side Crymych won 4-0 at Knighton Town of Mid Wales East.

The Preseli men face a home tie against Newcastle Emlyn, who disposed of Llandrindod Wells Reserves 7-1 in their first round match.

Felinfach thrashed Bont 10-2 away to reach this stage where they host local rivals Lampeter Town while New Quay will trek to Talgarth.

Cardigan Town, after a a handsome 7-4 win over visitors Brecon FC, and the Magpies face another tough test away against Builth Wells who beat Tregaron Turfs in the first round.

Aberaeron beat Llanboidy on penalties, and they are away against fellow Aberystwyth University in round two, the the students having beaten Presteigne 4-1.

Maesglas of division two overcame Felindre in round one but could have it all to do even with home advantage against Brecon Corries.

Emrys Morgan Cup Round Two Draw (October 16):
Southern Section: Crymych v Newcastle Emlyn; Felinfach v Lampeter Town; Maesglas v Brecon Corries; St Dogmaels v Hay St Marys; Builth Wells v Cardigan Town; Aberystwyth University v Aberaeron.