VOTERS will have their say about who represents them and their community in the Senedd Cymru election on May 6.

Everyone in Wales gets two votes in the Senedd election, the first is for the person to represent their constituency, and the second will decide who represents the region.

There are 40 constituencies in Wales, each sending one person to the Senedd. Constituency Members are chosen using the first-past-the-post system. Whoever gets the most votes is elected.

There are five regions in Wales, each sending four people to the Senedd. Regional Members are chosen using the Additional Member System, which better reflects the support for each party across the whole region.


Candidates for Ceredigion MS

The seven candidates in Ceredigion constituency in the Senedd Cymru Elections are as follows: Cadan ap Tomos - Liberal Democrats; Stephanie Evans - Freedom Alliance – Integrity, Society, Economy; Harry Hayfield - Green Party; Gethin James - Reform UK; Amanda Jenner - Conservatives; Elin Jones - Plaid Cymru; Dylan Lewis-Rowlands - Labour.

Elin Jones has been MS for Ceredigion since 1999 and her majority in the last election was 8.2% up from 6.1% the election before. With the exception of 1999, the Liberal Democrats have come second in every Senedd election.

Candidates for Preseli Pembrokeshire MS

The five candidates in the Preseli Pembrokeshire constituency in the Senedd Cymru Elections are as follows: Paul Davies - Conservative and Unionist Party; William Alan Dennison - Reform UK; Jackie Jones - Labour Party; Tin Roberts - Liberal Democrats; Cris Thomas - Plaid Cymru.

Paul Davies has been MS for Preseli Pembrokeshire since 2007. Until January 2021,he was Conservative leader but resigned after an incident involving drinking alcohol in the Senedd came to light. Labour are the nearest challengers with the 2016 candidate coming 13.6% of the vote behind Mr Davies.

Candidates Carmarthen East and Dinefwr MS

The five candidates in Carmarthen East and Dinefwr constituency in the Senedd Cymru Elections are as follows: Monica Mary French - Liberal Democrats; Havard Hughes - Conservative and Unionist Party; Rob James - Labour Party; Karl Pollard - Reform UK; Adam Price - Plaid Cymru.

Plaid Cymru leader Adam Price is the current MS for Carmarthen East and Dinefwr. In 2016, he secured 48.5% of the vote. It is seen as a safe seat for Plaid Cymru.


Candidates Mid and West Wales Region

There are 66 candidates on the 'regional list' in the Mid and West Wales region, representing the following parties: Abolish the Welsh Assembly Party; Christian Party 'Proclaiming Christ's Lordship'; Communist Party of Britain; Conservative and Unionist Party; Freedom Alliance - Integrity, Society, Economy; Green Party; Gwald; Labour Party; Liberal Democrats; Plaid Cymru - The Party of Wales; Propel; Reform UK; Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition; UK Independence Party (UKIP).


The next Police and Crime Commissioner elections are also scheduled for May 6

The roles of the Police and Crime Commissioners were created by the Police Reform & Social Responsibility Act 2011, with the first elections held in 2012. The second election was held in May 2016.

Election for Dyfed- Powys Police Commisioner

There are four candidates vying for the role of Dyfed-Powys Police and Crime Commissioner in the elections being held on May 6.

They are: Conservative – More Police, Safer Streets: Jon Burns; Plaid Cymru – The Party of Wales candidate and current incumbent – Dafydd Llywelyn Welsh Liberal Democrats – Put Recovery First / Democratiaid Rhyddfrydol – Adfywio yw’r FlaenoriaethTomos - Glyn Preston and Labour and Co-operative Party / Llafur a’r Blaid Gydweithredol candidate - Philippa Ann Thompson.