A THREE-party coalition has been formed to run the newly-elected Ceredigion County Council with Cllr Ellen ap Gwynn re-elected as leader and Cllr Ray Quant MBE is the deputy leader.

The coalition is formed of the Plaid Cymru group, the largest grouping with 20 councillors, the Independent group (11) and the Independent Voice group (3).

The Liberal Democrats will form the opposition group, with eight councillors.

Cllr Lynford Thomas was as elected as chairman-elect of Ceredigion County Council and Cllr Hag Harris as vice chairman-elect.

During the meeting, the chairman paid tribute to Neil Flower, the Llandyfrïog ward candidate from Aberporth who died suddenly before the election and expressed sympathies with his family.

Another election was called in the Llandyfrïog ward and Cllr Wyn Thomas was elected unopposed. No announcement has been made regarding individual portfolio holders in the cabinet.