THE most prestigious competition outside senior football in mid Wales is undoubtedly the J Emrys Morgan Cup which involves the Costcutter League, Cambrian Tyres Aberystwyth & District League, Mid Wales League South and JT Hughes Montgomeryshire Amateur League.

Since the competition started in season 1972-73 when Aberystwyth Town Reserves were initial winners, clubs in the Costcutter have performed with distinction, borne out by the coveted trophy finding its way south on 15 occasions.

Ffostrasol were the first local winners during an epic 1974-75 season when plundering five trophies, while Newcastle Emlyn are topdogs with three wins.

The Reds beat Llanfyllin in 1976-77, proved too strong for Berriew in 1992 and sprang a 5-0 win over Four Crosses in 2017-18.

Maesglas hold the record as the only club to successfully defend the cup, having beaten Emlyn in 1986-87 and Berriew the following season.

Cardigan Town lifted the trophy in 1999 and again during a memorable campaign in 2014-15 and other Costcutter winners are New Quay (2010-11), Lampeter Town (2013-14), Llandysul (2016-17), Dewi Stars (1992-93), Aberaeron (2002-03), St Dogmaels (1994-95) and now defunct Saron (1997-98).

The league’s record could have been even better if the 2019-20 season had not been curtailed due to the coronavirus, as Cardigan Town and Newcastle Emlyn were in the semi-final.

Town were due to meet Cambrian Tyres leaders Tregaron Turfs while Emlyn were drawn against the winners of the Guilsfield Reserves versus Brecon Corries quarter-final tie.