Cueists turn on the style

Finals night emphasised the high standard of the Cardigan & District Pool League with an abundance of quality potting and thrilling contests.

One of the biggest upsets was in the Jeff ‘Fly’ Jones Memorial three-a-side competition where Peter Almond, Gary Murtagh and Chris Truslove were seen by many as red hot favourites to take the title, especially as they had won every game in the run-up to the final, which included a superb sequence of four eight-ball clearances on the trot.

It appeared they would come out on top again when taking the first three games, but Rugby Club trio Rhydian Evans, Carl Owen and Welsh International Lee Davies had other ideas as they recovered to win five games on the bounce for victory.

Roll of Honour

League champions: Lamb A, 2 Rugby Club; Wooden spoon: Commercial: 7’s KO Cup: 1 Red Lion, 2 Llew Coch; Super veterans: 1 Terry Williams (Lamb A), 2 Eos Howells (Bowling Club); Veterans Cup: 1 Mark Bellotti (Llew Coch), 2 Eos Howells (Bowling Club); Jeff ‘Fly’ Jones Trophy: 1 Lee Davies, Carl Owen, Rhydian Evans (Rugby Club) 2 Peter Almond, Gary Murtagh, Chris Truslove (Lamb A); Captain’s Cup: 1 Gary Murtagh (Lamb A), 2 Darren Barker (Rugby Cub); League pairs: Peter Almond and Gary Murtagh (Lamb A), 2 Jamie Bowen and Chris Truslove (Lamb A); Player-of-the-year: 1 Gary Murtagh (Lamb A), 2 Richard Owen (Lamb A), Lee Davies (Rugby Cub), Richard Eldridge (Lamb A); Most 8-ball clearances: Lee Davies (Rugby Club); Most doubles games won: 1 Lee Davies (Rugby Cub), 2 Richard Eldridge (Lamb A).