Excitement was at fever pitch during finals night in the Cardigan & District Darts League as a vastly experienced player came close to achieving a fabulous nine-dart finish.

Kevin Phillips of Castle RFC turned on the style against Jamie Bowen of Tafarn Yr Oen in the Captain’s Cup final at the rugby clubhouse.

Phillips hit treble 20 seven times on the trot with perfect darts but his throw at treble 19 for a double 12 finish was marginally the wrong side of the wire and he had to be content with lifting the title.


6-a-side: 1 Tafarn Yr Oen 3 Red Lion 0

4-a-side: Tafarn yr Oen 3 Lamb 1

3-a-side: Tafarn yr Oen 3 Lamb 2

Emlyn Davies Memorial Doubles: Rhys Jones, Adam Williams (Tafarn yr Oen) 3 Emyr Davies, Sam Terrain (Rampin) 0

League Pairs: Rhys Jones, Norman Jenkins (Tafarn yr Oen) 3 Wayne Jones, Mark Newall (Lamb) 1

Teifi Furniture Cup: 1 Jamie Bowen (Tafarn Yr Oen) 3 Steve Jerry Williams (Tafarn Yr Oen) 2

Captain’s Cup: Kevin Phillips (Castle RFC) 3 Jamie Bowen (Tafarn Yr Oen) 0

Singles: Norman Jenkins (Tafarn Yr Oen) 3 Rhys Jones (Tafarn yr Oen) 0

180: Kevin Phillips (Castle RFC) x 2; Rhys Jones (Tafarn Yr Oen); Daniel Jones (Tafarn Yr Oen), Steve Jerry Williams (Tafarn Yr Oen).