By Tivy-Side reporter

Having missed out on the Costcutter League Division One Championship on the final day of last season, St Dogmaels put the record straight in lifting the title for the first time since season 2006-2007 and the tenth time in total with a 2-0 win over visitors Llandysul.

The Greens led through a Chris Jones strike at the interval after a shot from Peter Almond was blocked and they wrapped up the title with a goal worthy of winning any competition.

Chesting the ball on the edge of the penalty area Rhys Jones unleashed a thunderous volley that flew into the back of the net via an upright.

Saints manager Steve Jerry Williams drafted on a number of youngsters during the second half and they could well be in the starting line-up for the remaining league encounters as the new champions concentrate on the final of the J Emrys Morgan Cup on Good Friday and the Bay Cup.

There were hopes among fans that the league trophy would be presented after the game which has been the practice for some years, but the silverware was still with former champions Lampeter Town and the celebrations ensued without it.

It was not such good news for the new champions four days earlier when they were knocked out of a second cup competition at the semi-final stage when going down 1-0 against Crannog in Cwpan Coffa Dai Dynamo Davies at Parc Emlyn, a result that saw the Llangrannog battlers reach a second final, having already progressed in the Easter Monday League Cup.

Hero of the hour for Crannog was ace marksman George Colven who netted the winner in the final quarter.

Eyebrows were raised when the final filtered through from Llangrannog on Saturday where Crannog buried Division Two runners-up Aberporth under a 20-goal avalanche in round one of the Bay Cup.

The Airmen turned up with only nine players and their cause was not enhanced when they were reduced to seven after two red cards.

For the Division One side Gary Davies, Robbie Evans and George Colven netted four apiece, Tom O’Connor and Gruff Thomas both scored twice and the other goals came via Huw Owen, Rhys Davies, Jordan Jones and Dylan Davies.

Back on the league front It was all a bit of a stroll for third in the table Lampeter Town who emerged 6-1 winners over relegated Bargod Rangers at North Road.

For the mid county side, who led 3-0 after 20 minutes the marksmen were Scott Davies who bagged a brace, Christy Gale, Liam Jones, Robert Slawkowski and Jason Jones.

Ffostrasol came out on top 3-1 against Cardigan Town at Troedyrhiw Park while NC Emlyn emerged 6-0 winners over Aberaeron Reserves at Square Field.