DESPITE just narrowly missing out on runners-up spot in the South Wales Cricket Association division one, it had proved a top rated season for Llandysul - and they signed off the season with a 50-run win at promotion rivals Dafen Welfare in Llanelli.

Having first use of a good batting wicket that also helped the bowlers, the Teifi visitors lost opener Rhys Jones without troubling the scorers, but skipper Ben Edkins wielded the willow to superb effect as he scored freely all round the wicket.

He stroked five fours and hoisted two sixes in making 77 off 148 balls, and was given support by Bleddyn Morgan (20), Gary Williams (17) and Steffan Jones, whose 40 valuable runs included three fours and a six.

The innings closed on 206 for the loss of eight wickets in the allotted 50 overs, with Chris Hudson (2 for 29) and Mathew Donoghoe (2 for 35) snapping two wickets apiece.

Welfare made an inauspicious start when Simon Holliday was bowled by Steffan Jones for nought, but fellow opener Mathew Evans got his head down in making 44, including five boundaries.

Evans and Mathew Jones (24) took the score on to 70, but three wickets fell before number six Scott Phillips (32) worked to revive the innings.

Andrew Dyer (11) was the only other batsman to make double figures however, as the hosts were bowled out for 156 in 36.3 overs, giving Llandysul a win by 50 runs.

Rhys Jones (4 for 40 off 6.3 overs) saw off the lower order batsmen after earlier wickets for Iestyn Evans (3 for 18 from 7 overs), Arfon Jones (2 for 34 from 10 overs) and Steffan Jones (1 for 22 from 5 overs).

Their 10th league win of the season saw the Teifisiders finish their campaign in third place, just two points adrift of runners-up Dafen Welfare, who finished with the same number of wins.

Leaders Llanelli finished the season 55 points clear at the top as worthy champions.

Results: 28 August: South Wales Cricket Association Division One: Dafen Welfare (156) lost to Llandysul (206-8) by 50 runs; Gowerton (243) lost to Llangennech (276-7) by 43 runs; Llanelli (287-7) beat Bronwydd (184-6) by 103 runs; Maesteg (138-1) beat Skewen (137) by 9 wkts; Tata Steel (179-1) beat Maesteg Celtic (178) by 9 wkts.