TEIFI rugby star Gareth Thomas will make his first senior start for Wales in their second test against Argentina at the Principality Stadium this weekend.

The Newcastle Emlyn man came off the bench in both the win over Canada and last weekend’s 20-20 draw with the Pumas, but he starts on Saturday.

Josh Turnbull, another Newcastle Emlyn star, will be making his first start since 2018 on the international stage, after also impressing from the bench.

It will cap a fine season for former Scarlets academy player Thomas, who has had a strong domestic campaign at regional level with the Ospreys.

"It’s going to be a special day, and I’m really looking forward to it," said the powerful prop, a former pupil at Ysgol Dyffryn Teifi in Llandysul.

"Having a start gives me a little bit more of an opportunity and time on the field. I feel when you come off the bench it’s hard not to chase stuff and look for too much to do.

“Hopefully we can come out firing on Saturday from the start and get a good win against a team we drew against last weekend."

The 27-year-old loosehead was one of five uncapped players named in Wayne Pivac’s squad to for the summer tests against Canada and Argentina.

He is one of three Ospreys looseheads in the current Wales squad, alongside Nicky Smith and Rhodri Jones, who is on the bench this weekend.

“It just shows the good work Duncan Jones and Toby Booth have done since they’ve come in at the Ospreys," said Thomas.

"It’s not just in the scrum, but in every way, Boothy has done a great job in all aspects and Duncan has really concentrated on the scrum this year.

"It shows how dominant we’ve been all season with three of us here, I’m really happy to be involved here now and hopefully I can push for a position.”

Head coach Pivac has have made seven changes for their Summer Internationals decider against Argentina in Cardiff on Saturday (3pm).

Following last weekend’s 20-20 draw with Los Pumas, there are four changes in the backs and a further three up front.

Tom Rogers returns to win his second cap, joining Hallam Amos and Owen Lane in an exciting back-three.

Nick Tompkins comes in to partner captain Jonathan Davies in midfield.

Cardiff Rugby duo Tomos Williams and Jarrod Evans, who impressed from the bench during last weekend’s comeback, start as the half backs.

In the pack, Gareth Thomas is handed his first start with Leon Brown also coming in alongside Elliot Dee.

The second-row partnership of Ben Carter and Will Rowlands remains unchanged for a third consecutive week

Josh Turnbull replaces the injured Aaron Wainwright, with Ross Moriarty moving to number eight, and James Botham the other flanker.

“We were all frustrated after drawing last weekend and felt we left a number of opportunities out on the pitch,” said Pivac.

“Argentina brought what we expected, they were big, physical and direct and exerted pressure with their kicking game.

"For some of this group, it was the first time they have faced that level of physicality and intensity and this week we will need to be much more accurate and disciplined.

“It is another exciting opportunity to face a quality outfit and we can still win the series, which would be a great way to finish our season.

“We have freshened the squad up a bit, giving others an opportunity to impress and they are eager to make a big impression.”

Sam Parry and Rhodri Jones are both handed their first opportunities of the summer, among the replacements, while Matthew Screech is in line to win his first cap.

Wales: Hallam Amos; Owen Lane, Nick Tompkins, Jonathan Davies (capt), Tom Rogers; Jarrod Evans, Tomos Williams; Gareth Thomas, Elliot Dee, Leon Brown, Ben Carter, Will Rowlands, Josh Turnbull, James Botham, Ross Moriarty. Replacements: Sam Parry, Rhodri Jones, Dillon Lewis, Matthew Screech, Taine Basham, Kieran Hardy, Callum Sheedy, Willis Halaholo.

Argentina: Santiago Carreras; Bautista Delguy, Santiago Chocobares, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Matias Moroni; Nicolas Sanchez, Tomás Cubelli; Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, Julian Montoya (capt), Francisco Gomez Kodela, Guido Petti, Marcos Kremer, Pablo Matera, Facundo Isa, Rodrigo Bruni. Replacements: Facundo Bosch, Facundo Gigena, Santiago Medrano, Tomas Lavanini, Matias Alemanno, Felipe Ezcurra, Domingo Miotti, Juan Imhoff.