LLANDYSUL are flying high at the top of the South Wales Cricket Association division one after they won by 41 runs at title rivals Maesteg, with opener Ieuan Paske leading the way with a half century.

Paske hit seven boundaries in his knock of 57 as the visitors posted 167 for 9 after 40 overs, and Dafydd Hatley then took three wickets as Maesteg were dismissed for 126 all out in the 36th over.

After losing the toss and being asked to bat first, Paske and Bleddyn Morgan put on 41 for the first wicket, before Morgan was caught for 24.

Ben Edkins was caught for a duck, and Chris Strange hit a six before being dismissed lbw for 12, but Llewelyn Hughes provided valuable runs, hitting 3 fours in his 37.

Rhys Jones finished on 13 not out at the end of the innings, with Matthew Pearce finishing with bowling figures of 3 for 34 for the hosts.

Wickets fell regularly in the Maesteg reply, with Hatley seeing off both openers as he claimed 3 for 15 in 8 overs, and the home batsmen looked in real trouble at 41 for 6.

Opener Lloyd Wilkshire was the only top five batsman to make double figures with 14, but Andrew Whelan revived the innings with his knock of 27, with 4 fours.

Matthew Pearce made 10, and Jeffrey Watkin, batting at number ten, hit a defiant 37, with 6 boundaries, before finally being caught out.

In addition to Hatley’s three wickets, Iestyn Evans took 2 for 29, Llewelyn Hughes 2 for 13, Ieuan Paske 2 for 21, and Steffan Jones took 1 for 7.

It was a tough day at the office for Llandysul Seconds as they were all out for 87, in reply to Maesteg Seconds' total of 206 for 6 at Tir Dref.

For Maesteg, opener Sion King made 69 and Lee Morgan was 73 not out, before a remarkable bowling display saw Lee Morgan take six wickets without conceding a single run in his seven maiden overs. Opener Dafydd Jones finished on 46 not out.

South Wales Cricket Association Division One Results: Dafen Welfare (220-6) beat Maesteg Celtic (66) by 154 runs; Gowerton (59) lost to Tata Steel (60-4) by 6 wkts; Llanelli (141) beat Llangennech (123-9) by 18 runs; Maesteg (126) lost to Llandysul (167-9) by 41 runs; Skewen (76) lost to Bronwydd (159-8) by 83 runs.