MUDIAD Meithrin’s awards ceremony proved a big success again this year for groups in the Cardigan and Newcastle Emlyn area.

The awards provide a chance to celebrate and recognise the hard work of staff and volunteers in Cylchoedd Meithrin (Welsh-medium playgroups), Cylchoedd Ti a Fi (Welsh-medium baby and toddler groups) and day nurseries.

This year’s awards ceremony was held at The Great Hall, University Campus, Aberystwyth with TV weather presenter Chris Jones compering the ceremony.

Mudiad Meithrin received more than 350 nominations for staff and volunteers in 11 different categorie.

Leanne Marsh, head of services development for Mudiad Meithrin said: “The awards ceremony was an opportunity for Mudiad Meithrin to recognise and thank the staff and volunteers at grassroots level. They deserve tremendous credit for their wonderful work.”

The awards adjudication panel met at the end of May before choosing the top three in each category and inviting the nominees to attend this special ceremony, held for the third time, following the sweeping success of the ceremonies held in the previous two years.

Dr Gwenllïan Lansdown Davies, Mudiad Meithrin’s chief executive, said: “We were hoping that many would see this as an opportunity for a Welsh-medium early years setting in their area to be recognised for its work and we were delighted to receive hundreds of nominations this year.

“It’s a lovely way for the staff and volunteers to be recognised by being nominated by the parents of the children in their care.”

2018 Mudiad Meithrin Awards – the top 3

Assistant: Gwenllian Parry, Cylch Meithrin Pontllanfraith (Caerphilly); Becky Tobin, Cylch Meithrin Llangollen (Denbighshire); Mary Short, Cylch Meithrin Penparc (Ceredigion)

Committee: Cylch Meithrin Drefach, Felindre (Carmarthenshire); Cylch Meithrin Bethel Penarth (Vale of Glamorgan); Cylch Meithrin Y Llewod Bach, Brynhoffnant (Ceredigion)

Cylch Meithrin: Cylch Meithrin Llewod Bach, Brynhoffnant (Ceredigion); Cylch Meithrin Glantwymyn (Powys); Cylch Meithrin Pentrebaen (Cardiff)

Cylch Ti a Fi: Cylch Tŷ'r Teulu (Carmarthenshire); Cylch Ti a Fi Sgiwen, Skewen (Neath Port Talbot); Cylch Ti a Fi Dyserth (Denbighsire) and Cylch Ti a Fi Llewod Bach, Brynhoffnant (Ceredigion)

Day Nursery: Meithrinfa Medra Llangefni (Anglesey); Meithrinfa Seren Fach, Brithdir (Gwynedd);

Cwtsh Y Clos, Llanarthne (Carmarthenshire)

Dewin and Doti: Cylch Meithrin Hermon (Pembrokeshire); Cylch Meithrin Hywel Dda. Whitland (Carmarthenshire); Cylch Meithrin Penparc (Ceredigion) and Cylch Meithrin Ffynnonwen, Login (Carmarthenshire)

Healthy Living: Cylch Meithrin Ffynnonwen, Login (Carmarthenshire); Cylch Meithrin Sarnau and Llandderfel, Bala (Gwynedd); Cylch Meithrin Aberteifi, Cardigan (Ceredigion)

Inclusion: Cylch Meithrin Penparc (Ceredigion); Cylch Meithrin Ffrindiau Bach Yr Eos, Penparcau (Ceredigion); Cylch Meithrin Bro Teifi, Llandysul (Ceredigion)

Leader: Andrea Jones, Cylch Meithrin Porth (Rhondda Cynon Taf); Hannah Jones, Cylch Meithrin Corris (Gwynedd); Deborah Ivins, Cylch Meithrin Pentrebaen (Cardiff)

Outside Area: Cylch Meithrin Nelson (Caerphilly); Cylch Meithrin Rhaeadr, Rhayader (Powys); Cylch Meithrin Crymych (Pembrokeshire)

Volunteer: Ryan Williams, Cylch Meithrin Pentrebaen (Cardiff); Lois Pugh, Cylch Meithrin Felinfach (Ceredigion); Erynne Watson, Cylch Meithrin Beddgelert (Gwynedd)