There was a sense of optimism at a well-attended Costcutter Football League annual general meeting at Ffostrasol when it was revealed there will be three divisions next season comprising a total of 26 teams.

Although Cilgerran Rovers and Bargod Rangers Reserves withdrew, the situation was compensated with news that Cardigan Town and St Dogmaels are reforming their reserves.

There will be 11 teams in Division One, nine in Division Two and six in the Third Division – it was confirmed that New Quay and Bargod Rangers were relegated from Division One with Ffostrasol and Pencader promoted from Division Two.

The new league chairman is Rhys Evans of Aberporth with John James of Dewi Stars as vice-chairman while the other officers were all re-elected.

Outgoing chairman Bruce Schofield of Llanboidy and secretary Geraint Davies presented reports on the success of last season and congratulated the clubs and in particular Llandysul on winning the J Emrys Morgan cup.

The 2017-18 season starts on Tuesday, August 22 for Division One clubs and action starts in Division Two on the following day. Early season fixtures will be announced in due course.