Lampeter crowned champions

First published in Sport by

Corks popped at Lampeter Bowling Club as the mid county team captured the Ceredigion Division One Championship for the first time in 57 years.

It was in 1957 when Lampeter last lifted the title but after a success-laden season Elfan James and colleagues did the business with a game to spare.

They went into the penultimate game at Tregaron on the verge of glory and a 32-shot win and 12 points were sufficient to clinch the title from Cardigan.

Tregaron 59 (2 points) Lampeter 91 (12 points)

Rink scores (Tregaron names first): John Jones 14 Henry Jones 26; David Bennett 12 Steve Entwistle 24; Gary Evans 14 Nick Randell 24; Lewis Morgan 19 Richard Young 17


Aberaeron 71 (1 points) Aberystwyth 85 (13 points); Cardigan 94 (12) New Quay 54 (2); Tregaron 59 (2) Lampeter 91 (12)

Positions: Lampeter 129; Cardigan 114; Aberystwyth 81; New Quay 66; Tregaron 65; Aberaeron 49; Queen’s Road 42

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree