After nearly three decades the game of pool is still flourishing in this neck of the woods with the Cardigan & District League going from strength to strength and standards at an all-time high.

It all began back in 1986 when Grosvenor became inaugural champions and followed up by completing a championship hat-trick and in the 1990’s Commercial B won four titles on the trot.

The championship wins are held by Teifi Boating Club with six, their first coming in the millennium year and remarkably the club cueists have been runners-up on no fewer than eleven occasions. Lamb A achieved a hat-trick of titles before relinquishing their crown last season when Gobaith were crowned champions.

During a highly-successful presentation evening at the rugby clubhouse the awards were presented by various league officials.

Roll of honour

Division One: 1 Gobaith; 2 Teifi Boating Club. Division Two: 1 White Hart; 2 Bell. 7’s KO Shield: 1 Gobaith; 2 Lamb A. Veterans: 1 Victor Burns (Clwb Rygbi); 2 Mark Belotti (Gobaith). Super Veteran: 1 Eos Howells (Schooners B); 2 Jeff Jones (Gobaith). Captain’s Cup: 1 Nick Thomas (Clwb Rygbi); 2 Jonny James (Lamb A). Division One player-of-the-year: 1 joint Geraint Evans (Teifi Boating Club) and Dan Duttnel (Gobaith); 2 Jeff Jones (Gobaith). Division One most doubles won: Mathew Morgan (Teifi Boating Club); Division Two player-of-the-year: 1 Gary Lawrence (White Hart); 2 Dominic Williams (White Hart). Division Two most doubles won: Paul Randerson (Bell). Open Paris: 1 Alan Lewis and Gerry Knight (Teifi Boating Club); 2 Mark Belotti and Kevin Phillips (Gobaith). League pairs 1 Dominic Williams and Norman Jenkins (White Hart); 2 Steve Smith and Dan Duttnel (Gobaith). Threes: 1 Gary Murtagh/Jonny James/Chris Truslove (Lamb A); 2 Dyf Allen/Rob Furney/Darren Howells (Schooners A). Singles: 1 Phil John (Gobaith); 2 Victor Burns (Clwb Rygbi). Most 8-ball clearances: joint Steve Smith (Gobaith) and Lyndsay Morgan (Clwb Rygbi)