The new chairman of Pembrokeshire County Council is Councillor Tom Richards.

Cllr Richards joined the council in its inception in 1996 as the member for the Letterston electoral division, and is vice-chairman of the Corporate Governance, Economy Overview and Scrutiny, and Audit committees, as well as being a member of several other committees.

He succeeds Councillor Arwyn Williams of Pembroke as Chairman.

A vote of thanks to the outgoing Chairman was proposed by the Deputy Leader of the Authority, Councillor Huw George.

The Council’s new Vice Chairman is Councillor Wynne Evans who represents the electoral division of Narberth.

The ceremony in County Hall, Haverfordwest, was attended by the Lord Lieutenant of Dyfed, The Hon. Robin Lewis OBE.