Nominations closed for European parliamentary elections

First published in

Nominations have now closed for the European Parliamentary elections, which will be held on May 22.

European Parliamentary elections are held every five years and the electoral region of Wales returns four Members to the European Parliament.

Members are elected under a proportional election system with candidates standing as part of a registered political party system, or as individual candidates.

The statement of political parties nominated, and the notice of appointment of election agents will shortly be displayed by each Local Returning Officer in Wales in a prominent place in each County.

In Pembrokeshire, the statement will be displayed at County Hall in Haverfordwest and on Pembrokeshire County Council’s website

Elections to the European Parliament will be held in all member states of the European Union between May 22and 25, as decided unanimously by a decision of the Council of the European Union.

They will be the eighth Europe-wide election to the European Parliament since the first direct elections in 1979.

Voters will be able to vote for one political party.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree