Teifi chamber orchestra

First published in What's on

Local music lovers are gearing up for what looks set to be a momentous treat when Teifi Chamber Orchestra unveil no fewer than two new works at their March concert.

Neither work has ever been played in public before but what makes them even more special is the fact that they’ve been composed by two local eminent composers – ‘Frolic of Wind’ written by the orchestra’s conductor, Malcolm Pike, and ‘A Spring Overture’ by Richard Williams who for many years has played lead violin.

The concert, entitled ‘Fables and Frolics’, consists of two very different halves: the first half promises to be dark and full of symbolism with Mozart’s Overture to ‘Don Giovanni’, Elgar’s elegiac ‘Serenade for Strings’ and finally Silbelius’ ‘Pelleas et Melisande’ suite. The second half will consist of the two new works and will conclude with Schubert’s Symphony No 3 which was written when he was just 18 years old.

‘Fables and Frolics’ takes place on Sunday, March 16 at 4pm. Tickets are £6 although accompanied children under 16 years have free admission.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree